Skip to Main Content

A moment on the subway platform changes two women’s lives forever—a debut thriller that will take your breath away.

A total stranger on the subway platform whispers, “Take my baby.”

She places her child in your arms. She says your name.

Then she jumps...

In a split second, Morgan Kincaid’s life changes forever. She’s on her way home from work when a mother begs her to take her baby, then places the infant in her arms. Before Morgan can stop her, the distraught mother jumps in front of an oncoming train.

Morgan has never seen this woman before, and she can’t understand what would cause a person to give away her child and take her own life. She also can’t understand how this woman knew her name.

The police take Morgan in for questioning. She soon learns that the woman who jumped was Nicole Markham, prominent CEO of the athletic brand Breathe. She also learns that no witness can corroborate her version of events, which means she’s just become a murder suspect.

To prove her innocence, Morgan frantically retraces the last days of Nicole’s life. Was Nicole a new mother struggling with paranoia or was she in danger? When strange things start happening to Morgan, she suddenly realizes she might be in danger, too.

Woman on the Edge is a pulse-pounding, propulsive thriller about the lengths to which a woman will go to protect her baby—even if that means sacrificing her own life.

Dahlia Katz Photography

Samantha M. Bailey is the #1 bestselling author of Woman on the Edge, which has sold in eleven countries. She is also a journalist and freelance editor; her work has appeared in NOW MagazineThe Village Post, and Oxford University Press, among other publications. She lives in Toronto. Connect with her on Twitter @SBaileyBooks and on her website at SamanthaMBailey.com.

Praise for Woman on the Edge

“A fast-moving thriller with satisfying twists.”
—?Toronto Star

“Bailey has talent and I, dear reader, am looking forward to her next novel.”
— Globe and Mail

“[A] nail-biting debut. . . . The tension becomes unrelenting . . . Fans of psychological suspense are in for a treat.”
—?Publisher's Weekly (Starred review)

Woman on the Edge?races towards its final destination with breakneck speed.”
—?Chatelaine

?“The debut novel from Toronto writer Samantha M. Bailey mines maternal anxiety, marital secrets, female friendship, and C-suite power grabs—not to mention public transit horror—for a satisfyingly twisty psychological thriller.”
Toronto?Life

“One woman’s struggles with motherhood and another’s desperate desire to be a mother collide in this explosive debut. Woman on the Edge is a white-knuckle read that welcomes a bright new talent to the world of psychological suspense.”?
MARY KUBICA,?New York Times?bestselling author of The Good Girl

"Writing with compassion for her characters and a keen eye on her carefully woven plot, Samantha Bailey’s Woman on the Edge is a page turning delight!"
—?WENDY WALKER, international bestselling author of All Is Not Forgotten

A remarkable thriller.
Morning?Live

[A] must-read thriller. . . . A series of events that will keep you turning this book’s pages till the end.
29Secrets

If you’re looking for a page-turner to bundle up with this holiday season, look no further than . . . Woman on the Edge. The gripping story follows Morgan Kincaid, who is suddenly given a baby by a woman moments before she dies by suicide. Pick it up when you have a few hours, because you’ll want to finish it in one sitting.
—?Elle Canada

Woman on the Edge?begins with a shocking, tragic event and doesn’t stop there. Samantha M. Bailey has written an impressive debut that will keep you reading until the final twist.”?
— SAMANTHA DOWNING,?USA Today?bestselling author of?My Lovely Wife

“A fast-paced, twisty roller coaster ride in which a desperate widow, a guilt-ridden new mother, and the secrets of the past collide—with a baby’s life hanging in the balance. . . . I couldn’t race to the end quickly enough! An exciting, binge-worthy debut.”?
KRISTIN HARMEL, bestselling author of The Winemaker’s Wife and The Room on Rue Amelie?

“From its first chapter—its first line!—Woman on the Edge?will grip you like so few novels manage to do. From the moment two women’s lives collide on a subway platform to the shocking finale, you’ll be dizzied by the twists and turns the story takes. Some writers toil their entire career trying to master this kind of adept plotting, but Samantha M. Bailey nails it in her first effort. Woman on the Edge?stayed with me for days after I turned its final pages. A truly thrilling debut.”
AMY STUART, bestselling author of?Still Mine?and?Still Water

“A shocking premise and two intriguingly damaged characters whose storylines hurtle toward each other, colliding in a powerful, moving climax. A propulsive read! Samantha M. Bailey is a writer to watch in the thriller genre.”?
ROBYN HARDING, bestselling author of?The Party?and?The Arrangement

“Begins with a bang and takes the reader on a tense, emotional journey of love, betrayal, loss and straight into the heart of a mother willing to do anything to protect her child. Infused with riveting, hold-your-breath suspense, this masterful debut needs to be your next binge-read. A knockout page turner.”?
—?HEATHER?GUDENKAUF,?New York Times?bestselling author of?The Weight of Silence?and?Before She Was Found

“A captivating thriller. . . . Bailey masterfully spins a chilling tale of deceit and duplicity that will have you guessing until the very end. Filled with unexpected twists, tight prose, and penetrating characters, this novel heralds the arrival of an immensely talented author.”
LORI NELSON SPIELMAN,?New York Times?bestselling author of?The Life List

“This is the page turner you’ve been looking for! Bailey’s writing is gripping and emotionally resonant at once, and her debut novel, perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Kimberley Belle, will keep you on the edge of your seat until the final sentence.”?
— MARISSA STAPLEY, bestselling author of?The Last Resort

"A tale so tightly told that you won’t swallow or exhale for the entire duration. Dark, riveting, utterly gripping. . . . Bailey is a new name to watch in the genre!”?
ROZ?NAY, bestselling author of?Our Little Secret

“One word: Exhilarating!?Woman on the Edge?was impossible to put down as the twisty thrills kept on coming—and kept me guessing—leaving me breathless. Fans of Shari Lapena will no doubt gobble this one up in a heartbeat.”?
— HANNAH?MARY?MCKINNON, bestselling author of?Her Secret Son?and?The Neighbors

"Gripping from the first page to the last,?Woman on the Edge?had me nail-biting and breathless all the way through. But even after you've turned the final page, this riveting and deeply felt thriller from debut author Samantha M. Bailey won't relinquish its hold on you."?
— LAURA SIMS, author of?Looker

“With the narrative acceleration of a runaway train,?Woman on the Edge?kept me at the edge of my seat for its entire zigzagging ride; I had to remind myself to breathe. Bailey’s confident prose and dark satire enrich the ingenious plot, and her authentic characters—whether damaged, yearning, or downright diabolical—make this compulsory reading for fans of suspense. An exceptional debut!”?
— SONJA YOERG,?Washington Post?bestselling author of?True Places

“Exhilarating and evocative. . . .?Woman on the Edge?had me gripped. This book effortlessly ticks all the boxes: wonderful world building, realistic characters and a gripping plot that made me keep flipping the pages. It’s about obsession and madness, motherhood and trauma. This is a debut you’ll want to slip straight to the top of your to-read pile!”?
— CHRISTINA MCDONALD, USA Today bestselling author of?The Night Olivia Fell?

“Readers, clear yourself a block of time for this one, because once you pick up Woman on the Edge, you won’t want to set it down. From its breathless first chapter to its startling conclusion, Bailey is in control, delivering a gripping plot, palpable tension, and characters pushed ever closer to the brink in this unmissable debut.”
PAULA TREICK DEBOARD, critically acclaimed author of Here We Lie and The Drowning Girls

“A glowing debut that starts with a bang and never lets up, Woman on the Edge weaves the stories of two women, both on the edge, who find themselves at different times the protector of a baby girl. Unrelenting suspense and a taut, propulsive plot add up to a first-rate, heart-pounding mystery. I loved this one!”
EMILY CARPENTER, bestselling author of Burying the Honeysuckle Girls

“Every mother’s worst nightmare comes to life in this taut, razor-sharp thriller. Bailey’s genius is in her story’s structure. By alternating the voices of two narrators—a new mother driven to the edge of insanity and a woman crawling out of the emotional abyss of her devastated life—gruesome clues reveal the sinister events that led one to abandon her infant in the arms of the other before ending her life. Crackling with suspense, the blistering pace of Bailey’s story will keep you turning pages late into the night to find out who—if either—is telling the truth.”??
—?JOSIE BROWN, bestselling author,?The Housewife Assassin?series?

Woman on the Edge?opens with an ingenious setup: a woman on the subway hands her baby to a total stranger, then jumps in front of an oncoming train. But were they really strangers, and did she really jump? Suspicions swirl in this propulsive debut, and the truth is revealed in twisty, page-turning increments that culminate in a whopper of an ending. A clever and addictive read from a bright new talent.”
KIMBERLY BELLE,?USA Today?bestselling author of?Dear Wife

“A knockout premise, break-neck pacing and a twisty plot with two strong women at its core make Woman on the Edge irresistible. I read it in one sitting, absolutely riveted by this propulsive tale of motherhood, loss and betrayal. A must-read for thriller lovers.”
DANIELA PETROVA, author of Her Daughter’s Mother

“Page-turning, up-all-night, expertly tracked. . . .?Woman on the Edge is a twisty tale where paranoia, double takes, reversals, and deceit bend to the awe-inspiring power of a mother’s love. Not to miss!”
JULIE VALERIE, author of Holly Banks Full of Angst and the Village of Primm series

“Samantha M. Bailey’s highly anticipated debut?Woman on the Edge?grips you from its first line. Quick-paced with roller coaster-like twists and turns,?Woman on the Edge?is a thrilling story of two women whose lives, in one brief moment, are forever changed. You’ll be breathless as you tear through the final pages. Loved it!”
— LIZ FENTON & LISA STEINKE, bestselling authors of?The Two Lila Bennetts

Woman on the Edge?may be a thriller, but at its core, it encapsulates Bailey’s thoughts, feelings and anxieties about the pressure of being a modern mother.
—?Canadian Jewish News

[A] totally gripping psychological thriller about the lengths in which a woman will go to protect her baby. You’ll be on the edge of your seat as you devour each page to find out how this story ends.
—?SavvyMom

三级片网站-三级片在线-免费三级片